FSA Won 1st Place in 2013 Chattahoochee Science Olympiad Competition

On Saturday, November 16, 2013,  three Fulton Science Academy Private School Science Olympiad Teams competed in the Chattahoochee Invitational in Johns Creek. This was the first tournament of the season and included teams from Alabama, Tennessee and the Atlanta area, including rival Dodgen Middle School who placed second in last year’s state tournament and twelfth at Nationals. The FSA teams brought home the 1st place and 5th place plaques as a team.

Head Coaches Pam Walsh and Gloria Stathos were pleased with the team’s performance. “This was the first year Chattahoochee has hosted an invitational and you never know what to expect at a new tournament, but our students performed well and we’re very satisfied with the results,” said Mrs. Walsh.
The competition was a reunion of sorts for many former FSA students. Colin Walsh, Stephanie Stathos, Suryabratta Dutta, and Sunny Chen, all members of the 2010 FSA National Science Olympiad Team, and Beyza Akgun, 2012 FSA National Team member, assisted with the tournament by proctoring exams.

Congratulations to all of these students, parents and our wonderful coaches. 
Individual awards were earned by the following students:
Anatomy – coached by Mrs. Ambari
3rd Place – Hasan Unal and Araneesh Pratap
5th Place – Sanjeev Uppalari and Avnee Naik
Boomilever – coached by Mr. Seker
5th Place Sule Anik and Kian Najaf
Disease Detectives – coached by Mrs. Lewis
5th Place Sree Sanku and Suraj Chatrathi
Dynamic Planet – coached by Mrs. Walsh
5th Place – Aditya Choudhari and Simon Wang
Entomology – coached by Mrs. Butler
2nd Place – Faith Lucas and Aditya Choudhari
Experimental Design – coached by Mrs. Stathos
1st Place – Simon Wang, Mira Mutnick, and Sule Anik
2nd Place – Maryam Unal, Sruthi Chatrathi, and Sophie Richardson
Heredity – coached by Ms. Doraiswami
4th Place – Sruthi Chatrathi and Karuna Kumar
Meteorology – coached by Mr. Ambardekar
4th Place – Neel Ambardekar and Sule Anik
Metric Mastery – coached by Ms. Fichter
1st Place – Araneesh Pratap and Vikram Ruppa-Kasani
Road Scholar – coached by Mrs. Stathos
3rd Place – Neel Ambardekar and Mira Mutnick
Robo-Cross – coached by Mr. Kaya
4th Place – Yusuf Tas
Rocks and Minerals – coached by Mrs. Walsh
1st Place – Brian Shoffeitt and Jean Moorman
3rd Place – Callie Webster and Soleil Moffitt
Rotor Egg Drop – coached by Mr. Seker
1st Place – Hasan Unal and Kian Najaf
3rd Place – Akash Bhatt and Nadine Haddad
Shock Value – coached by Mr. Wang
2nd Place – Simon Wang and Vikram Ruppa-Kasani
Simple Machines – coached by Mr. Near
1st Place – Araneesh Pratap and Brian Shoffeitt
3rd Place – Julian Hamelberg and Josh White
Solar System – coached by Mrs. Walsh
2nd Place –Jean Moorman and Aditya Choudhari
Sounds of Music – coached by Mr. Yanasak
5th Place – Mira Mutnick and Faith Lucas
Water Quality – coached by Mrs. Butler
1st Place – Jennifer Near and Elaine Wen
2nd Place – Sophie Richardson and Akash Bhatt
3rd Place – Vikram Ruppa-Kasani and Sule Anik
Write It, Do It – coached by Mrs. Stathos
1st Place – Sophie Richardson and Karuna Kumar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s